28 August 2015 Friday

Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu announced his interim Cabinet on Friday, after President Recep Tayyip Erdogan assigned him to form a caretaker government.

Davutoglu submitted the composition of the new government to Erdogan at 7.10 p.m. local time (1610GMT).

Since Tuesday, the prime minister has been making efforts to form a provisional government that will run Turkey until early election is held on Nov. 1.

The June 7 election saw a stalemate with no party winning the majority necessary to form a single party government. Coalition talks between the Justice and Development Party (AKP) and the other three parliamentary parties had not produced any result.

All but one party — the main opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP) — had refused to join the caretaker government.

The new cabinet consists of 11 MPs from ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP), 11 independent candidates, and 3 representatives of the opposition – Tuğrul Türkeş (Nationalist Movement Party -MHP), and 2 MPs from pro-Kurdish People’s Democracy Party (HDP) – Müslüm Doğan and Ali Haydar.

Davutoglu announced the list of members of the interim Cabinet at a press conference in Ankara which is as follows:

Prime Minister – Ahmet Davutoglu

Deputy Prime Minister –  Yalcin Akdogan

Deputy Prime Minister – Numan Kurtulmus

Deputy Prime Minister – Cevdet Yilmaz

Deputy Prime Minister – Tugrul Turkes


Foreign Minister – Feridun Sinirlioglu

EU Affairs Minister and Chief Negotiator – Ali Haydar Konca

Minister of Family and Social Policies – Aysen Gurcan

Minister of Justice – Kenan Ipek

Minister of Science, Industry and Technology – Fikri Isik

Minister of Customs and Trade – Cenap Asci

Minister of Environment and Urban Planning – Idris Gulluce

Minister of Economy – Nihat Zeybekci

Minister of Youth and Sports – Akif Cagatay Kilic

Minister of Internal Affairs – Selami Altinok

Minister of Transport, Maritime and Communication – Feridun Bilgin

Minister of Labour and Social Security – Ahmet Erdem

Minister of Energy and Natural Resources – Ali Rıza Alaboyun

Minister of Food, Agriculture and Livestock – Kudbettin Arzu

Development Minister – Muslum Dogan

Minister of Culture and Tourism – Yalcin Topcu

Minister of Finance – Mehmet Simsek

Minister of National Education – Nabi Avci

Minister of National Defence – Vecdi Gonul

Minister of Forest and Water Management – Veysel Eroglu

Minister of Health – Mehmet Muezzinoglu

Source: World Bulletin.

Link: http://www.worldbulletin.net/headlines/163683/turkey-pm-davutoglu-unveils-interim-cabinet.